STATE BAR OF GEORGIA BOARD OF GOVERNORS MINUTES June 6, 2014

Omni Amelia Island Resort/Amelia Island, FL

The 252nd meeting of the Board of Governors of the State Bar of Georgia was held at the date and location shown above. Charles L. Ruffin, President, presided.

D-Day 70th Anniversary Commemoration

The Board of Governors commemorated the 70th anniversary of the D-Day Landings with a Color Guard from the Fernandina Beach Police Department, presented by Drew Early, and a news clip video presentation of the D-Day landing. Eric Ballinger introduced retired U.S. Senior Circuit Judge James C. Hill, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit, who recalled his experience as a representative of that generation. Thereafter, Drew Early presented President Ruffin with a memento of the recent trip to Normandy that was sponsored by ICLE, the Military and Veterans Law Section, the Military Legal Assistance Committee, and the State Bar.

Special Recognition

President Ruffin recognized the Annual Meeting sponsors. Thereafter, he recognized members of the judiciary, Past Presidents of the State Bar, other special guests in attendance, and the retiring members of the Executive Committee and Board of Governors.

Roll Call

Secretary Rita A. Sheffey circulated the attached roll (Exhibit A) for signature.

Future Meetings Schedule

President-elect Patrise Perkins-Hooker referred Board members to the Future Meetings Schedule in the Board Book.

Executive Director Election

Following a report by President Ruffin on the Executive Director search process, he presented to the Board of Governors the nominee for the State Bar's new Executive Director, Jeff Davis. Following a motion and second to close the nominations for the Executive Director, the Board of Governors, by unanimous voice vote, approved Jeff Davis as the Bar's Executive Director for the 2014-15 Bar year.

Consent Agenda

President Ruffin presented the Consent Agenda. There being no objection or request for removal of the item, a motion was made and seconded to approve it:

1) Minutes of the 251st Meeting of the Board of Governors

The minutes of the Board of Governors meetings on March 22, 2014, at the Ritz-Carlton Lodge in Greensboro, Georgia, as presented.

The Board of Governors, by unanimous voice vote, approved the above item on the Consent Agenda.

Resolution Honoring William B. Smith, III

President Ruffin recognized Bill Smith for his leadership and work on the issues of international trade in legal services. Mr. Smith was not able to attend the Annual Meeting and will receive his resolution (Exhibit B) at a later date.

Resolution Honoring Linton Johnson

President Ruffin presented a resolution (Exhibit C) to Linton Johnson for his work on behalf of the State Bar of Georgia and authoring the history book, From Banished to Unified - A History of the Legal Profession in Georgia.

Resolutions Honoring State Bar Staff

President Ruffin presented resolutions (Exhibit D) to Sharon Bryant, Steve Laine, and Paula Frederick for their invaluable and exemplary support, management and direction to Bar staff, officers and members following Cliff Brashier's passing.

Georgia Legal Services Program

President Ruffin presented a check to Phyllis Holmen in the amount of \$522,799, which represents voluntary contributions by Georgia lawyers that have been collected through GLSP's 2013-14 State Bar Campaign.

Awards Presentations

President Ruffin presented the following State Bar awards:

Thomas O. Marshall Professionalism Awards: Honorable Carol W. Hunstein and John A. Dickerson

Commitment to Equality Awards: (Ret.) Judge Thelma Wyatt Cumming Moore (Randolph Lifetime Achievement), Marian Cover Dockery, and Suzanne W. Ockleberry

Local and Voluntary Bar Awards:

Thomas R. Burnside, Jr. Excellence in Bar Leadership Award: Honorable Barbara A Harris Award of Merit: Blue Ridge Bar, Macon Bar, and Georgia Association of Black Women Attorneys

Law Day Award of Achievement: Walton County Bar, Glynn County Bar, Gwinnett County Bar, and Cobb County Bar

Best New Entry: Georgia Trial Lawyers Association

Best Newsletter: DeKalb Bar Association, and Georgia Defense Lawyers

Best Website: Houston County Bar, Blue Ridge Bar, DeKalb Bar, and Cobb County Bar President's Cup: Georgia Association of Black Women Attorneys

State of the Supreme Court of Georgia

The Honorable Hugh P. Thompson, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Georgia, delivered the State of the Supreme Court of Georgia address.

State of the Court of Appeals of Georgia

The Honorable Herbert E. Phipps, Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals of Georgia, delivered the State of the Court of Appeals of Georgia address.

State of the Georgia House Judiciary Committee

Representative Wendell Willard, Chair of the House Judiciary Committee, provided an update on the Committee's activities.

State of the Georgia House Judiciary Non-Civil Committee

Representative Rich Golick provided an update on the Georgia House of Representatives.

House Juvenile Justice Committee

Representative Tom Weldon, Chair of the House Juvenile Justice Committee, provided an update on the Committee's activities.

State of the Georgia Senate Judiciary Committee

Senator Josh McKoon, Chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee, provided an update on the Committee's activities.

State of the Georgia Senate Judiciary Non-Civil Committee

Senator Jesse Stone, Chair of the Senate Judiciary Non-Civil Committee, provided an update on the Committee's activities.

State of the Georgia Senate Special Judiciary Committee

Senator Curt Thompson, Chair of the Senate Special Judiciary Committee, provided an update on the Committee's activities.

Investigative Panel

Maria Waters provided an update on the activities of the Investigative Panel and recognized the current and retiring Panel members.

Review Panel

Tony Askew provided an update on the activities of the Review Panel and recognized the current and retiring Panel members.

Formal Advisory Opinion Board

John Shiptenko provided an update on the activities of the Formal Advisory Opinion Board and recognized the current Board members.

Section Awards

President Ruffin announced that the Intellectual Property Law Section was named Section of the Year, and Awards of Achievement went to the Child Protection & Advocacy Section, Family Law Section, and Military and Veterans Law Section.

Memorials

President Ruffin presented the Memorials report.

President's Address

Following an introduction by Immediate Past President Robin Frazer Clark, President Ruffin delivered the President's address (Exhibit E).

Board of Governors Meeting June 6, 2014 Page 4

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Rita A. Sheffey, Secretary

Approved:

Charles L. Ruffin, President