MEMORANDUM

DATE: April 1, 2017

TO: Board of Governors

FROM: William D. NeSmith, III

Deputy General Counsel

RE: REQUEST TO CREATE A STANDING COMMITTEE ON JUDICIAL QUALIFICATIONS COMMISSION MEMBER NOMINATIONS

Background

On July 1, 2016, President Patrick T. O'Connor, with the approval of the Executive Committee, created the Judicial Qualifications Commission Legislation Task Force, which has operated as a Special Committee pursuant to Article VIII, Section 2 of the State Bar of Georgia Bylaws. The purpose of this Special Committee was to formulate a recommended course of action in regard to legislation implementing a reconstituted Judicial Qualifications Commission and other potential reforms to the JQC and to present its recommendations to the Executive Committee and the Board of Governors.

The Judicial Qualifications Commission Legislation Task Force has performed its designated purposes and now a new Standing Committee is needed to carry forward certain requirements that may be required under the new formed Judicial Qualifications Commission.

Article VIII, § 1 of the State Bar of Georgia Bylaws provides as follows:

"The Board of Governors may create standing committees for such purposes as it deems appropriate. The members of each standing committee shall be appointed by the President. Any request for the creation of a standing committee shall be accompanied by a statement of purpose."

Name of the proposed Standing Committee

If approved, the name of the proposed Standing Committee will be "Standing Committee on Judicial Qualifications Commission Member Nominations."

Statement of Purpose for the Proposed Standing Committee

This Standing Committee will receive nominations from members of the State Bar of Georgia for members of the Bar to be recommended for appointment to the Judicial Qualifications Commission (JQC). The Committee shall provide this list of recommendations to the Board of Governors for approval and submission to the various appointing authorities, as may be provided by law.

Committee Members to be Appointed by the President of the State Bar of Georgia to Serve on the Proposed Standing Committee

The members to be appointed by the President to serve on the proposed Standing Committee are as follows:

Brian DeVoe "Buck" Rogers - Chairperson

Sarah Brown Akins

Eric Alvin Ballinger

Hon. Diane E. Bessen

Hon. J. Antonio DelCampo

Scott Dewitt Delius

Harold Eugene Franklin, Jr.

Hon. Horace Jerome Johnson, Jr.

Dawn M. Jones

Edward H. Lindsey

Dennis C. O'Brien

Miller Peterson Robinson

Hon. Paige Reese Whitaker

Kenneth Bryant Hodges, III

Christine Lynn Butcher – Staff Liason

On behalf of Patrick T. O'Connor, President of the State Bar of Georgia, the Office of the General Counsel respectfully requests that the Board of Governors create the "Standing Committee on Judicial Qualifications Commission Member Nominations."